Go to the top


    • Fellow of the Royal Doyen Academy (FRDA).
    • Fellow of the Historical Society of Nigeria (FHSN).
    • Alexander von Humboldt (AvH) Renewed Fellowship Award, accompanied by a junior researcher, at Humboldt University of Berlin, July to October 2019.
    • Alexander von Humboldt ’Humboldt’ Kolleg grant, 2019.
    • TETFund Book Publication Grant, 2018.
    • Alexander von Humboldt Publication Grant, 2018. Fellow of the Historical Society of Nigeria (FHSN).
    • “The Wangari Maathai Award for Innovative Scholarship and Leadership” of The University of Texas at Austin, 2017.
    • University of Nigeria Staff Award for Most Punctual Lecturer, 2016.
    • TETFund grant for Institution-Based Research Project, 2016
    • Alexander von Humboldt (AvH) Renewed Fellowship Award, Berlin, August-October 2015.
    • The First A. G. Leventis Foundation Fellow, Centre of African Studies, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, 2013-2014.
    • Alexander von Humboldt Renewed Research Fellowship, 2011.
    • National Universities Commission Conference support, 2010.
    • “Professional Service Award” of the Rotaract Club, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.
    • Alexander von Humboldt (AvH) grant for Humoldt Kolleg, 2010.
    • Alexander von Humboldt Book, Equipment, and printing grants, 2009/2010.
    • Alexander von Humboldt Return Fellowship Award (November 2008—October 2009).
    • Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow (at Zentrum Moderner Orient, Berlin; June 2006–September 2008).
    • Advanced Research Fellowship award of the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA), 2005–2006.
    • Leventis Post-doctoral Research Fellow, Centre of African Studies, School of Asian and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, 2004.
    • Fulbright Visiting Researcher, Women Studies Program, The University of Kansas, Lawrence (U.S.A.), July 2001–May 2002.
    • Vice Chancellors’ prize for Best graduating Ph.D. candidate of the University of Nigeria for 2001-2002 academic year.
    • Vice Chancellors’ prize for Best graduating Ph.D. candidate, Faculty of Arts, University of Nigeria, for 2001–2002 academic year.
    • University of Nigeria post-graduate research awards, 1999-2000/2000-2001.
    • Federal Government of Nigeria Scholarship for M.A. degree, 1991-92.


  • Sweizerische Gesellschaft fur Afrikastudien Conference Sponsorship for Bern-Switzerland, 2015
  • Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) Conference grant for Moscow-Russia 2014
  • Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund)Conference grant for Chennai-India, 2013
  • CODESRIA for New Orleans, Louisiana-U.S.A., 2009
  • University of Nigeria International Conference Grant for El-mina, Ghana, 2009
  • African Sexuality Leadership Development Fellowship for Lagos, 2009
  • AvH/ZMO Conference grant for Lima-Peru, 2007
  • AvH/ZMO Conference grants for Adelaide-Australia, 2007
  • CODESRIA for Cairo-Egypt, 2006 and 2005
  • Rutgers Centre for Historical Analysis for New Jersey-U.S.A., 2005
  • Cornell Center of African Studies for Ithaca-New York, 2003
  • Fulbright Institute of International Education (IIE) for Austin-Texas, 2002    
  • York University—UNESCO/SSHRCC Nigerian Hinterland Project for Enugu, 2000




a. Prize for best-graduating female student of the Faculty of Arts, University of Nigeria (2 recipients since 2018)
b. Prize for best-graduating female student of the Department of History and International Studies, UNN (7 Recipients since 2010)
c. Undergraduate & Post-graduate Tuition Grants (10 recipients since 2008)
d. Post-Primary School Scholarship (2 recipients since 2014)
e. Other Educational Programmes (Some recipients since 2014)